Just a thought & 7th shot

Published on by psoriaticarthritis

Hello all,

 

     Well I will be taking my 7th shot either tonight or tomorrow.  So far the Enbrel has helped however I have found that I may have to stay on the Celebrex because when I skip taking it I find myself hurting.  I am going to try my best to do as my Dr has wanted me to do by only taking it every other day.  Only time will tell.

 

     As all of you know my father had PSA very, very bad.  He was able to get what help he could through the VA, however when he first started having problems the VA hospital was not all that great, I will say that they did improve and by the time my dad passed away I was really impressed how much the hospital cleaned up.  With that said I do not want this to become a bashing blog about the VA.

 

     My father did not have great insurance and with the VA hospital being two hours away it was a very rough trip for him to take, which made him have to go to the local charity hospital.  I will say this the charity hospital in Baton Rouge is not a good place.  It is good they have this but it never seemed clean, nor did they have enough staff to deal with all the patients they had.  I remember once that my dad was unable to go to the bathroom because at this time he was bed ridden and he soiled himself.  Not only was he not able to get help but it took them apxan hour or so before anyone came to clean him.  Just the fact that it took so long is unexcusable however with his psoriasis all over his body sitting in his own crap was not good for him either.  I can only hope and pray that this place has gotten better today.

 

     My father had tried for years to get approved for Social Security.  He started trying way before his health became as bad as it was for the last couple years of his life.  Now he was considered disable since the early 80's and received around $600.00 a month from the veterans which after he paid child support he was not left with nothing.  I ask each of you this, How can someone survive off of $600.00 a month?  after fighting with the VA for years he was finally considered 100% disable around 1994 or 1995, which increased his monthly income to around $1000.00 or $1200.00 a month, which was nice however still that is not enough money to live off of.  Now the VA did back pay him which I am unsure of the total amount but it was a nice chunk of money.  Which my father did blow a lot of it and made bad investments along with giving several thousands to help family and friends.    Not long after this settlement his health started to go down hill.  He started trying to get social security help in the mid 90's if not before.  So he was still forced to go to the VA or the local charity hospital for medical help on a disease that none of them had a real good idea how to treat or understand how to treat it. 

 

 

     I will continue this on a later blog.  This is a very emotional subject and I need to take a break.  Thank you all.

 

 

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post